"Outlook Message Options - The Settings Involved Before Sending the Messages"


Outlook Message Options - What are the settings that available?

When composing a message, the user can set various message options before a message is sent. The tutorial here will let you discover all the necessary settings.


To set the Outlook message options

  • On the Standard toolbar, click the New Mail Message icon.

Outlook message options

  • From the Untitled Message dialog box displayed, click the Options icon to display the Message Options dialog box. Do the necessary settings:

Outlook message options dialog box


Outlook Message Options - Importance

Contains three levels of message importance or priority: high, normal and low. Setting message priorities affects how the message is routed from source to destination. High priority messages are routed to their destinations before normal messages, and low priority messages are transmitted last. The default setting in Outlook is normal.

A symbol displays in the recipient's View Pane indicating the message importance. High displays a red exclamation mark in the recipient's Inbox, Low displays a down arrow in the recipient's Inbox. Normal messages have no symbol against them.

To change the importance level

  • Click the Importance: drop-down arrow and select High or Low.


Outlook Message Options - Sensitivity

You can mark your messages as Personal, Private or Confidential and the banner in message header will display the selected option.

To define the sensitivity

  • Click the Sensitivity: drop-down arrow and select Personal, Private or Confidential.

Note: Marking a message Private prevents the message from being modified after you send it.


Ask others to vote in a message

You can send out mail messages that need recipients to respond in a preset way. Microsoft Outlook calls this "voting". When you set voting options in a message, Outlook creates buttons relating to the options that you specify for the recipients to click. You can then track the results by viewing the votes.

To set voting options

  • Select the Use voting buttons: check box, and then click the voting button names you want to use in the box.
  • To create your own voting button names, delete the default button names, and then type any text you want. Separate the text with semicolons. For example: Small; Large; Extra Large, etc.
  • Click Close and de-select the Save sent message to: check box, and then enter the folder name where you want the message saved and Close.
  • Click Send.


Track vote responses to a message

To review the results of the voting, you use Outlook's tracking.

To track voting responses

  • Open the original message with the vote in it. This is usually in the Sent Items folder.
  • Click the <>Tracking tab.

By default, responses that do not contain comments are recorded in the original message, and the responses are kept in the Inbox. To automatically delete the response messages, on the E-mail tab in the Options dialog box (Tools menu), select the Delete receipts and blank responses after processing check box.

To copy the results of voting responses

  • View the voting responses.
  • Select the responses you want to copy. To select all rows, click the first row, and then hold down [Shift] and click the last row.
  • OR
  • To select nonadjacent rows, click the first row, and then hold down [Ctrl] and click additional rows.
  • On the Edit menu, click Copy.
  • Switch to the other program or to the text box of the item you want to copy the information to.
  • On the Edit menu, click Paste.


Read and Delivery Receipts

Outlook can notify when messages are delivered or read by returning a message to you verifying the date and time the message arrived at the mailbox of the recipient "Delivery Receipt" or verifying the date and time the message was opened by the recipient "return Receipt".

To be notified about a message

  • Under Voting and tracking options, select the 'Request a delivery receipt for this message' or the 'Request a read receipt for this message' check box.


Have replies sent to

Outlook can send replies to a particular message to someone else, such as an assistant.

To have replies sent to some body else

  • Check the 'Have replies sent to' box and type the name of the person you want to receive the reply messages in the space provided or click 'Select Names' button to select the name from an address book.


Do not deliver before

When used, this option keeps the message in the sender's Outbox folder until the date and time specified.

To not to deliver a message before a specific date

  • Check the 'Do not deliver before' box and specify the date and the time when you want the message to be delivered.


Expiry Date

This option makes the message unavailable by deleting the message after the specified date and time provided the recipient(s) has not read it.

To set an expiry date

  • Check the 'Expires after' box and specify the date and the time when you want the message to become unavailable.



Can't find what you're looking for? Try Google Search!

Custom Search

Back to Top

You're viewing the Outlook message options info page, click here to go back to the Home Page

Add To Your Social Bookmarks: add to BlinkBlink add to Del.icio.usDel.icio.us add to DiggDigg
add to FurlFurl add to GoogleGoogle add to SimpySimpy add to SpurlSpurl Bookmark at TechnoratiTechnorati add to YahooY! MyWeb


Google Search:

Custom Search

Recommended Books:

Click on the image to view the details of the book.
Excel 2007 ebook
The Ultimate Guide to
Excel 2007!


PowerPoint 2007 ebook
The Ultimate Guide to
PowerPoint 2007




XML RSS
What is this?
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Add to Google


Enjoy This Site?
Then why not use the button below, to add us to your favorite bookmarking service?

Copyright © www.msoffice-tutorial-training.com. All Rights Reserved.